top of page
  • Isabel Fernandez

Blog Post #3: Building & Maintaining a Digital Presence as an Educator: Self Reflection

Updated: Mar 28, 2021

Engaging in a PLN via Twitter:


What have you learned?

I have learned that having a PLN is very important way to connect with other educators and in turn means furthering your networking but also your support system. I have learned over my course of preservice learning that we must not put ourselves on islands and use our resources including our colleagues, administrators and our carefully created PLNs.


What will you continue to build/maintain after this course?

I wasn't the biggest fan of using twitter as a PLN, not because its not a great platform, but because i just don't like the setup and functioning of twitter personally. However, I do plan to use my art Instagram (@isabel.on.paper) and slowly transform it into more of a teaching platform where I can connect with teachers and schools. I already have started to follow and follow back educators that I have met over the course of my preservice teaching.


What professional goal will you set for yourself with regard to developing and maintaining a digital presence as an educator?

My goal is is to continue transforming my art Instagram account to create a more engaging and connecting PLN. I might do this by following more schools and educators, or posting my preservice lessons and student artwork rather than just my artwork.

 

Designing an ePortfolio


What have you learned?

I have learned that creating an ePortfolio is extremely useful for compiling what I have learned and created as an educator. Often times, I can refer back to my portfolio for teaching strategies or lesson ideas that I have had throughout my course of learning about teaching.


What will you continue to build/maintain after this course?

After this course, I will compile what I have learned and compiled from my last couple remaining education courses and teaching so that I have a strong resource for my future teaching and just another platform that can offer me help.


What professional goal will you set for yourself with regard to developing and maintaining a digital presence as an educator?

My goal is that I will continue added to this portfolio so that I can refer back to it, but also that I will actually refer back to this ePortfolio when I come across challenges in my future teaching or need ideas for methods or projects.

 

Starting a Teacher Blog


What have you learned?

I have learned that it is really easy to maintain a teacher blog and actually very helpful in processing what I have learned or experienced in education courses or preservice teaching.


What will you continue to build/maintain after this course?

I am not sure if I will continue this blog after this course, however if not, I have taken to journaling to process things that happen during my day and as teaching becomes more and more apart of my life. I will journal about teaching to reflect on myself as a teacher, because I have a firm belief that I will and can always improve.


What professional goal will you set for yourself with regard to developing and maintaining a digital presence as an educator?

My goal is to always reflect upon my teaching and how my students react to my teaching. I don't ever want to get stuck in a routine and forget to keep adapting and evolving towards being a better teacher for my students.

 

Developing a Digital Classroom


What have you learned?

Similarly to all the other methods of creating and having a digital presence, I have learned that creating a digital classroom is actually a lot easier than it may seem due to the abundance of resources and technologies.


What will you continue to build/maintain after this course?

I will continue growing my knowledge on these technologies for creating digital classrooms and having effective ones, however, I'm not i will continue growing a "fake" one unless a school asks me to.


What professional goal will you set for yourself with regard to developing and maintaining a digital presence as an educator?

Similarly to to the teaching blog, I plan to make sure that I continue educating myself of good technology to include in the digital and physical classroom.


Basically, I owe it to my future students to continue learning about different ways to teach and ways to improve upon myself and teaching philosophies to become and forever evolve towards the best teacher I can become.

Recent Posts

See All

Global Education in an Art Classroom

"A global education is one that incorporates learning about the cultures, geographies, histories, and current issues of all the world's regions. It emphasizes the interconnectedness and diversity o

bottom of page