top of page
Search

Journal Entry 4: Transformation and Transition

The mandala and its different stages represent my growth each year of college that are molding me into my "ideal" teaching self or form. Mandalas are often used to represent the universe in it ideal form, and my universe is teaching and being the ideal teacher for my students. The mandala can always be added to infinitely, and that aligns with how even after graduation or after 10 years of teaching, I will still have to grow into my ideal teacher form, never quite reaching perfection, but doing my best for my students by adding more and more to my mandala.









What perspectives/strategies/practices did you learn from the first placement that revised/enhanced/transformed your previous perspectives or assumptions about teaching and learning?

In my first placement I learned that despite my skill in being able to be loud enough to re-focus students, there is a lot of power in waiting for students to show me they are ready to learn. I like getting things right and hitting every part of my lesson plan, but it was eye opening to realize that it's okay if we don't get to everything if I have to wait for students because it teaches them accountability, how to show respect and properly listen, and through my own modeling it also shows students that I respect them will not yell over them. I had already gotten stronger in letting go of certain things when teaching but this experience grew that skill even more so.


What changes have you made or adjusted to adapt to the new placement?

My tone of voice and demeanor are the biggest changes. With the younger individuals that attend elementary school, comes more sensitivity and a different response to adult figures. At the middle school, students connected more through teasing and joking around because they are so focused on peer approval and if they are not meeting project expectations you could simply remind them. However, at the elementary school (except for maybe some of 4th and 5th grade) the students already have this stronger need to please adults and so they need recognition and validation through positive feedback (this is where a lot of compliment sandwiches come to play) and if they make a mistake I have to carefully ask them if their art needs [insert art expectation] and if they say no, then its okay to let go of one expectation (especially with grading being so different). Creating art is a very vulnerable thing to do, so it makes sense that a less emotionally developed group of individuals (because of age) would need a different approach.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page