top of page
Search

Student Teaching: Metaphors/Symbols

(clicking on images will expand them)

Having finished my secondary placement and beginning my primary, I have noticed that the little things that are not majorly impactful if forgotten are where I lack some instruction. For example, the things that teachers or other successful adults may think of as common sense, are things that we learned through the experience of living or by chance were taught to do at some point. It is easy to get frustrated that students do not meet your expectations, but the question to ask is if you taught them the foundations or building blocks for meeting those expectations first.


Teaching is living and breathing routine, for the success of students, but also for the success of the teacher. The pillow and moon represent the exhaustion that teachers feel, and that I have been feeling after a long day of teaching. Something that my mentor teacher told me during my first placement was the teacher needs to healthy and feeling good in order for a class to feel and do the same. I need to work on creating a good after school practice and morning routine for myself, so that I can be a energized and best teacher I can be. This symbol also represents student routine, in the same way we all go to bed at night. What class practices energize students? What calms students? How do my students know that it is time to focus? These answers are things that I plan to begin to understand through my student teaching but also throughout my teaching career. I want to constantly work toward creating an optimized art class for my current and future students' needs using these discovered routines that become so concrete its almost a necessity like going to bed at night.


This symbol demonstrates volume in my teaching and my classroom. I had a revelation during both my placements that I do not need to be the loudest in the room in order to get my students attention, that I can wait for students to stop talking and demonstrate respect and willingness to learn instead. I plan to work on this shift in philosophy everyday. Volume also represents how I would like to work on student volume in my classroom. Some teachers do lights, some use music, some use sayings, some use a certain spot they stand on that is marked on the floor, and so much more. I want to find the techniques that work best for me and my students so that they understand the clear expectation of their voice volume levels for their success.




3 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page