top of page
Search

Journal Entry #6: Student-Teaching Finale

1. What are the important elements to create a predictable, caring, and positive learning environment?

BUILD RELATIONSHIPS! To build a predictable learning environment I create routines, from warm-ups we do everyday, modes the class goes into, and lessons that always have a plan, project, and reflection. My student know my expectations always, and never are surprised by expectations or consequences of not meeting them.

My goal is that my students always feel that I care and that our learning environment is a positive one. I do this through joking with students, getting to know who they are and their interests through conversations and projects, and practicing restorative practices if their ever is a interaction that is less than positive.


2. What strategies are helpful for you to respect diversity?

To respect diversity in my classroom I introduce artists outside the western view, or that support my students' backgrounds and cultures. In addition, I always facilitate art lessons that allow students choice to express themselves or their interests. Finally, I always offer opportunities for EVERY ONE of my students to succeed through differentiation of extra support including extensions of depth.


3. What reflective practices, activities, or methods did you apply to assist your students' art learning in your teaching? How did they work well or how could they be improved with some adjustments?

  • Class discussions

  • Pair-Share

  • Artist Statements

  • Reflection Paragraphs

  • Questioning at the end of Class

  • Gallery Walks

Class discussion work really well in my classroom, however, I do have to get to know my classes before attempting this reflective activity because sometimes students are to wiggly or unfocused to be able to successfully participate in discussions. Sometimes this means I need to shorten the discussion, post the questions and allow students to talk at their tables, or even include opportunities for movement in the class. Pair-share is very similar to my class discussions, I usually use this method for my classes in which all students what to share and talk in front of the class. This way everyone feels heard, which is very important to me as a teacher that values inclusivity.

I have never had problems with artist statements or reflection paragraphs because this allows students to be more vulnerable and really think about their artwork without thinking about peer judgement. However, sometimes students can reflect at a very surface level and I will have to provide feedback and provide further probing questioning in order to receive something with deeper meaning from my students.

When I use questioning at the end of class, my goal is that students begin to think about the meaning and success or their artwork just a bit and then later on I will provide an opportunity to dig deeper into reflection.

My all time favorite form of reflection is the gallery walk. I have used this method to aid students in getting peer feedback as they work to finish their project, and to push meaning in artwork after finishing (more like a critique). This is always very successful and I believe the most engaging for students because it allows students who are more independent to be so, and it allows students who rely heavily on their peers input to do so as well.


-What type of self-growth did you observe through reflective practices?

When I reflect on my teaching whether or not it is formal and I write a reflection or I reflect in my head, my goal is always to grow and adapt according to whatever I reflect upon. If I don't absolutely love how a lesson went ,I will make a change or addition right away. These changes are not just a one time thing either. I will remember or take note of these changes and, the next time I teach something similar, I will still implement these changes from the start because I learned what will be more successful.


2 views0 comments
bottom of page